Concept of Doshas and Ayurvedic body types

We're starting our discussion today with the basics of Ayurveda. It’s important and I can't skip it. Hopefully, you will not be bored by the end. 

According to Ayurveda everything in this world is created by five great elements (Panchamahabhutas): air, ether, water, fire, earth. Fruits, vegetables, plants, animals, humans comprised different combinations of elements. Each element has its own qualities. You already know it, just look around. Air is drying, light, mobile, cold. Ether gives space. Water is moist and nourishing. Fire is hot and can transform things. Earth is grounding, stable, nourish. Root vegetables and grains are more earthy in nature therefore they have their qualities. Fruits are watery, juicy. Pungent spices are fiery - you feel hot if used too much. I think you already got a point.

In our body, five elements create three Doshas. To avoid overconsumption I just say ‘the Doshas are the combinations of five elements and carry their qualities’. Three Doshas called Vata, Pitta, Kapha.

Vata is a composition of air and ether so it is dry, light, mobile, cold, etc.

Pitta is a composition of fire and water. It is hot, light, sharp, etc.

Kapha is a composition of earth and water. It is unctuous, cold, heavy, slow, etc.

Vata dosha helps to move our body and everything inside of it. Body movements, breathing, flowing of the blood, etc. Without Vata, we'll look like a corpse. And become it very fast without heart beating

Pitta dosha is responsible for all transformations. It's like liquid fire and the first duty is cooking or transformation of food into nutrients. The metabolic process, secretion of the hormones are under the control of Pitta dosha.

Everything else is under the control of Kapha dosha. It is only one stable dosha therefore it can handle so many duties :). Muscles, fat, plasma, lubrication are under the control of Kapha. Would you imagine how the human body will look without Kapha? 

No way, nobody without Kapha, nothing to move and transform.

I think you're ready now to understand how to look like a human when some of Doshas are more. It calls Prakriti or body type. All of us got it from birth and it never changes through one particular life. You can put on weight or got a disease but your body type never changes. Will see it again in the state of health.

Kapha dosha body types have thick bodily frames, stout musculature, well-developed hairs, teeth, bones. They naturally have good immunity, endurance. Their metabolic rate is slow therefore they’re easily put on weight. They are patient, compassionate, like to care about others.

Pitta body types have average bodily frames, good circulation, warm extremities, mostly feel warm in all types of weather. They have a good metabolism and strong digestion. Their skin is soft and smooth, eyes are harp. They have average strength, hot temper easily became irritable. They are motivated, intelligent, good leaders.

Vata individuals have thin and usually tall bodily frames. They are always below average weight, easy to lose weight, and hard to gain. Their metabolism and digestion are variable, tissues are not well developed. They are sensitive, enthusiastic, creative. Their strength capacity is less therefore too many physical activities make them weak.

Generally, it is hard to find individuals with pure Vata, Pitta, and Kapha predominant constitution. There are 7 body types according to Ayurveda: Vata, Pitta, Kapha, Vata-Pitta, Vata-Kapha, Pitta-Kapha, and all three together Vata-Pitta-Kapha.

Just remembered a test from the internet to determine Ayurvedic body type. I got 0% of Kapha :). Probably I'm a first invisible, unbodied, and still alive human being :). No criticism, but please be aware, body type isn’t one you can determine by tests. Possibly what you can see isn't your Prakrity. It can be the result of a wrong lifestyle and habits. 

Hopefully, you weren’t too bored reading this long article. Will be happy to answer any questions!


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All